Your Opinions For An Alternative Book Scanning System

Built a scanner? Started to build a scanner? Record your progress here. Doesn't need to be a whole scanner - triggers and other parts are fine. Commercial scanners are fine too.

Moderator: peterZ

cemagan
Number of books owned: 0

Your Opinions For An Alternative Book Scanning System

Post by cemagan »

Hi Guys, (valuable members of the great diy book scanner forum!)

My name is Gem, from Turkey. I'm new here, and very interested in designing amateur book scanner systems. Because I'm a researcher in Turkish Natural Language Processing, I need Turkish texts from various kinds of books to work on. As anyone know, traditional book scanning is a very time consuming task for human and destructive task for books. So I'm trying to find a speedier and gentle to run, practical and low-cost to construct solution for book scanning.

As far as I understand, the most important sub tasks of auto book scanning;
  • flipping pages automatically
  • obtaining as flat as possible photos of pages
  • keeping books and pages at most suitable position while photographing

I have seen the videos of some nice and intelligent amateur auto book scanner designs from enthusiasts on the web. They mostly rely on electronic hardware and mechanical parts.

For scanning pages automatically, typically a turning wheel is used to fold the paper and a thin metal arm is used to flip the folded page. The biggest difficulties of these systems are:
  • contact position of the folding wheels is changing during scanning so wheel must change its touching position according to the current page to scan.
  • Towards the end of the scanning the wheel fold more than one page at once because there are not enough pages under the current page to provide enough friction resistance.