New project- looking for a starting point

Built a scanner? Started to build a scanner? Record your progress here. Doesn't need to be a whole scanner - triggers and other parts are fine. Commercial scanners are fine too.

Moderator: peterZ

PhredPhidgets
E-book readers owned: Adobe Acrobat, Aldiko,
Number of books owned: 100

New project- looking for a starting point

Post by PhredPhidgets »

Hi everyone- I am new to the DIY Scanner Forum - a I am looking for a starting point.

I obtained a number of years ago a copystand from Boeing Surplus in Kent WA. (geez I really miss that place - It was DIYer's heaven). The stand was evidently made in the Boeing fabrications shop and very impressively made. It uses an aluminum v-beam extrusion and features a counterbalanced camera mount. It has a few quirks though - the vertical camera support was built to be in the side of the unit - so the aspect of the unit is portrait (vertical) from the front as opposed to landscape - there is a hinged platform for books on the rear - but it hinges downwards instead of up and it is in the wrong aspect to take full frames of a page. This makes me suspect the unit was built specifically for video work as opposed to still cameras - it did come with a simple video switching unit which I removed.

So I am thinking that the easiest way would be to mount a heavy steel right angle to the camera mount to "flip" the aspect of the camera - the then reverse the hinge on the platform so it hinges upward. I am working with a single camera for now. Later I am thinking of making a full cradle for a book and mounting a hinged platen on the camera mount.

Is this a good starting point? Anybody want to offer any suggestions- or perhaps words of wisdom?
victoriaaustralia
E-book readers owned: newton
Number of books owned: 2

Re: New project- looking for a starting point

Post by victoriaaustralia »