Canon A3300?

Everything camera related. Includes triggers, batteries, power supplies, flatbeds and sheet-feeding scanners, too.

Moderator: peterZ

booknut
Number of books owned: 500

Canon A3300?

Post by booknut »

Hello all,
Thanks for making such a great forum. I'm going to be building my first scanner this week, and I was hoping for some current advice on which camera to buy.
what I'm looking for:
- Control the cameras from the computer (Linux) and directly input the images as they're taken.
- 16mp (or at least 14). I'm a grad student working with oversized, historical documents, so the more pixels the better.
- I'd also love to be able to be using the RAW images, but that's not totally essential.

But being a total noob to this, I can't tell which of the newer cameras fit the bill. Most of the lists that are linked in these forums are from a couple years ago. Could anyone help me pick a camera? I am looking at the Canon PS A3300, but I can't tell from Canon's site if that will do what I want.
Thanks!
Booknut
Gerard
Number of books owned: 0

Re: Canon A3300?

Post by Gerard »

booknut wrote: - Control the cameras from the computer (Linux) and directly input the images as they're taken.
we have no ready to use solution for this, development is going on with
* http://diybookscanner.org/forum/viewtop ... =20&t=2520
* all chdk enabled cameras (see ptpcamgui and chdkcam) the canon a3300is has beta chdk support (the beta means it's working for the firmware developer)
* gphoto2 http://gphoto.org/doc/remote/ have a list of cameras which have support for remote capture

booknut wrote: - 16mp (or at least 14). I'm a grad student working with oversized, historical documents, so the more pixels the better.
booknut wrote: - I'd also love to be able to be using the RAW images, but that's not totally essential.