Creating smaller PDFs

Don't know where to start, or stuck on a certain problem? Drop by and tell us about it. Feel like helping others? Start here.

Moderator: peterZ

Oliver
E-book readers owned: Kindle
Number of books owned: 300

Creating smaller PDFs

Post by Oliver »

Hello everyone,

I am quite new to book scanning and I wasn't expecting that there would be a whole community about that topic. It's gorgeous!
I want do digitalise few books and used a scanner in the library of my university. The scans were pretty good but they were just scans, no digitalised books. So I researched a bit and got to know this forum and ScanTailor and I have to say, this program is just fascinating. It does what I want and it does it with a great accuracy.
I just have one problem with ScanTailor: the pdfs a way too large for my usage.
A scan of a book with about 100 pages, 20 of them with pictures, is about 250mb big. That's huge!
I tried already to limit the size of the file by turning the dipt to 300x300 and I am using the Greyscale for all pages except thos with images. I want the images in colour.

So I am wondering, if you are able to recommend a program/technique (at least a program free to use) to make those files smaller? I was wondering if this can be done with OCR? It is not important to preserve the exact font of the book.
But I worry, that this won't be easy. Those are books in italian and spanisch mixed with a bit of Latin and a lot of biological terms.

Greetings
Oliver
cday
Number of books owned: 0

Re: Creating smaller PDFs

Post by cday »